Records smashed at the 25th K-Way Skyrun

Posted by Ashna Brijmohun on 23 November 2021

The 25th K-Way Skyrun was a huge success with records being smashed and three more names added to the list of athletes who have completed the 100km route in under 13 hours in the popular event held in Lady Grey in the Eastern Cape.

After winning the 2021 K-Way 4 Peaks Mountain Challenge, dubbed the hardest 24km mountain race in Southern Africa, and setting a new course record, Simon Tshabalala showed his strength by taking the podium position at the 2021 K-Way Skyrun, missing setting a new course record by mere seconds, in a time of 12hrs09min38sec. “The race was tough, but I’m feeling good and I’m very happy with the win,” beams Simon Tshabalala.

Tied for 2nd place was Grobler Basson and Christiaan Greyling in a time of 12hrs58min44sec. “This is such an achievement for me,” says Greyling. “In 25years, less than 10 people have completed the 100km route in under 13hrs, so I feel honoured to make the list! It was great to race with Grobler, we were well matched and really pushed each other to the limit!’’

Tarrin van Niekerk, who started out today wanting a sub20 hour Skyrun, took podium position in the ladies’ category, and 8th overall, in a brilliant time of 16hrs30min56sec. “It was such an amazing day, the weather was perfect, and this win was completely unexpected, but I am so overjoyed at it!” exclaims Tarrin.

2nd place went to Jessica Barrow in 17hrs13min26sec and 3rd to Jade Pickard in 18hrs58min40sec.

In the 65km race, first place went to Mjongile Tonic Masilo, smashing Simon Tshabalala’s 2020 record by nearly 30 minutes in a time of 08hrs09min33sec. “Today was a great day out in the mountain, I felt great out there,’’ says Masilo. 2nd place was taken by Erhard Sauer in 08hrs18min16sec with 3rd place going to Skyrun veteran runner, AJ Calitz, in a time of 08hrs38min23sec.

The ladies were the real hero of the 65km route, with another course record set with all three top ladies finishing in under 10hrs. The queen of trail running, Landie Greyling, took 1st place in a time of 09hrs41min51sec. “I am really glad I am not doing the 100km route today!” says Greyling on her win. “Today was the first time I was able to turn right instead of left, so a bit of a different experience for me. The weather was great, everything was just perfect for me today. Thanks to Pure Adventures and everyone who put on this amazing show it’s really special.”

2nd place went to Kristen Heath in a time of 09hrs53min04sec, and 3rd to Natalie van Reenen in 09hrs57min46sec.

On the 38km route, first place went to Delphinus Sauer in 05hrs04min01sec, with Mawethu Chale in 2nd place in 05hrs15min45sec and Werner du Preez in 3rd in 05hrs43min27sec.

“Like last year, in the few days leading up to Skyrun, we had a lot of rain predicted, so we were sure we were going to be in for a wet one, but fortunately the weather played along again, and we had a fabulous day out in the mountains today,” says race organiser, Mike de Haast from Pure Adventures. “To see such a high level of running out on the course today was exhilarating, we have incredible talent within our trail runners in South Africa!”

For more, visit


100km overall

  1. Simon Tshabalala                         12hrs09min38sec
  2. Grobler Basson                              12hrs58min44sec
  3. Christiaan Greyling                       12hrs58min44sec

100km Women

  1. Tarrin van Niekerk                         16hrs30min56sec
  2. Jessica Barrow                                 17hrs13min26sec
  3. Jade Pickard                                     18hrs58min40sec


65km Men

  1. Mojongile Tonic Masilo                   08hrs09min33sec
  2. Erhard Sauer                                      08hrs18min16sec
  3. AJ Calitz                                              08hrs38min23sec

65km Women

  1. Landie Greyling                                  09hrs41min51sec
  2. Kristen Heath                                     09hrs53min04sec
  3. Natalie van Reenen                           09hrs57min46sec

38km Overall

  1. Delphinus Sauer                                05hrs04min01sec
  2. Mawethu Chale                                  05hrs15min45sec
  3. Werner du Preez                               05hrs43min27sec

38km Ladies

  1. Carla Beyers                                       06hrs30min25sec
  2. Jolene Wium                                      06hrs43min05sec
  3. Elke Harms                                        06hrs49min53sec

Pictures: Rory Schaeffer


Mountaineers summit for conservation in 6th annual Rhino Peak Challenge

yoast-primary - 1004431
tcat - Sport
tcat_slug - sport-events-2
tcat2 - Travel news
tcat2_slug - travel-news
tcat_final -