South African restaurants scoop gold at Luxe Restaurant Awards

Posted on 23 May 2024 By Savanna Douglas

South Africa’s top culinary talent was honoured at the 2024 Luxe Restaurant Awards on Tuesday evening, hosted at the Monument House in Franschhoek.

The event, in attendance by local culinary icons such as critically acclaimed fine-dining chef James Gaag, Siba Mtongana, and The Lazy Makoti, presented over 30 awards to South Africa’s finest in food, hospitality and lifestyle on Tuesday evening.


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Luxe Awards (@luxe.awards)

Franschhoek’s Le Colombe scooped its title as Restaurant of the Year, and Ouzeri was named International Restaurant of the Year.

Stellenbosch based chef, Callan Austin – head of two restaurants, Nocturne and Dusk – received the award for Chef of the Year.

Other notable wins include Stellenbosch restaurant, Mertia, winning New Restaurant of the Year. Cape Town based Belly of the Beast claimed Fine Dining Restaurant of the Year, and Salsify at the Roundhouse in Camps Bay took the Sustainability Award.

South African culinary icons earned their titles at the Luxe Restaurants, too.

Chef Rikku O’Donnchu of RIKŪ Chef’s Counter, Shuck+Scoop Oyster Bar, Nikkei and RYŪ Sushi won the Culinary Innovation Award. Clement Pedro, Senior Content Producer for wwtaste and Chef Presenter for Expresso Show was honoured as Culinary Media Personality of the Year.

Matt Van Den Berg, Head Chef of Mertia, took the Culinary Rising Star Award.


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Luxe Awards (@luxe.awards)

Find the full list of winners below:

2024 Luxe Restaurant Awards winners

    • African Restaurant of the Year: The Happy Uncles
    • Bistro of the Year: Farro Restaurant
    • Burger Joint of the Year: Zuney Wagyu
    • Café of the Year: Hemelhuijs
    • Casual Fine Dining Restaurant of the Year: Post and Pepper
    • Chef of the Year: Callan Austin
    • Coffee Shop of the Year: Truth Coffee
    • Contemporary Restaurant of the Year: Club Kloof
    • Culinary Change Award: Wandile Mabaso
    • Culinary Innovation Award: Rikku O’Donnchu
    • Culinary Media Personality of the Year: Clement Pedro
    • Culinary Rising Star Award: Matt Van Den Berg
    • Family Restaurant of the Year: The Table at De Meye
    • Fine Dining Restaurant of the Year: Belly of the Beast
    • Grillhouse of the Year: VUUR Restaurant
    • Hidden Gem Award: Stefan’s Restaurant at Erinvale Hotel & Spa
    • Hotel Restaurant of the Year: Upper Union
    • International Restaurant of the Year: Ouzeri
    • Legacy Award: La Colombe
    • Lifestyle Restaurant of the Year: Club Como
    • New Restaurant of the Year: Mertia
    • Pastry Chef of the Year: Jared Melamed
    • People’s Choice Award: Kolonaki Greek Kouzina
    • Pioneer Award: James Gaag
    • Pop-Up Restaurant of the Year: Chef Rikku at The Art of Duplicity
    • Restaurant of the Year: La Petite Colombe
    • Restobar of the Year: The 11th Floor
    • Service Excellence Award: The Living Room
    • Street Food Restaurant of the Year: The Siba Deli
    • Supper Club of the Year: Tempo Luxury Restaurant
    • Sustainability Award: Salsify at the Roundhouse
    • Wine Service Award: Keize Mumba

Article shared by Woman&Home.

yoast-primary - 1004423
tcat - Eating Out
tcat_slug - eating-out
tcat2 - Eating Out
tcat2_slug - eating-out
tcat_final -