France updates travel restrictions; SA on new ‘scarlet red list’

Posted on 6 December 2021 By Taylah Strauss

The French authorities have created a new category of restricted countries, the so-called ‘scarlet red’ list to protect France ‘from the dissemination of the Omicron variant on our territory, until the risks attached to this variant are precisely established,’ according to the official French government website.

The scarlet red list prohibits travellers from South Africa, Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, Zimbabwe, Malawi, Zambia, and Mauritius from entering France.

Individuals wishing to enter France that are from the countries on the scarlet red list must be able to supply compelling reasons. No access will be authorised for professional, tourist, study or research purposes.

If an individual can indeed provide a compelling reason, they must produce either a negative antigen test not older than 24 hours, or a rapid PCR test not older than 48 hours, irrespective of vaccination status, prior to arrival.

In addition, upon arrival, repeat tests will be conducted, and individuals will be required to quarantine for 10 days in a place chosen by the French authorities.

France has opened its borders to allow French nationals or members of the European Union to return home starting 4 December.

For more information on travel restrictions for scarlet red-listed countries, click here.

Picture: Chris Karidis/Unsplash


Omicron Covid variant detected in Netherlands before SA’s announcement

yoast-primary - 1004431
tcat - Travel news
tcat_slug - travel-news
tcat2 - Travel news
tcat2_slug - travel-news
tcat_final -