KLM to operate two repatriation flights from SA

Posted on 22 May 2020

KLM Royal Dutch Airlines is organising two special repatriation flights in coordination with the Dutch Embassy in South Africa departing on 29 and 30 May.

Non-EU and Schengen state citizens must have an onward ticket from Amsterdam in order to board this flight, unless you have a residency permit for an EU or Schengen state country.

Please note, US visa holders of any kind will not be eligible for admission to the United States after transit in the EU.

Flight information:

  • Flights will depart from Cape Town on Friday, 29 May, and from Johannesburg on Saturday, 30 May to Amsterdam.
  • To book a ticket, you must contact KLM directly.  Bookings can only be made through KLM’s Sales and Service Centre via phone at: +27(0)10 205 0101, daily between 9am and 4pm. 
  • US. citizen and LPR passengers are eligible to transit through the airport but will not be allowed to enter the Netherlands and must have a connecting flight.
  • US passengers will be responsible for onward travel to their final destination in the United States.
  • For any questions regarding price, payment, baggage allowance, seats, and other flight details, please contact KLM directly.
  • Once KLM has a final manifest, passengers will receive all information about the assembly point, time schedule, and other relevant info from the Dutch Embassy.
  • You will be responsible for finding your own transportation to the required assembly point.

Please note that, per South Africa government regulations, the only South African citizens who will be allowed to board are:

  • A South African married to a foreigner, whose foreigner spouse is already in the country of residence;
  • A South African who has dual citizenship;
  • A South African who is a Permanent Resident in a foreign country; and
  • People who have left their families abroad and are travelling to rejoin.
  • Please note the South African government has notified us that South African citizens who are immigrant visa holders are not eligible.
  • The South African government has informed us that other than the categories above, South African citizens will not be granted exceptions to travel.

Image credit: Twitter/DisAviation


You may also like

yoast-primary -
tcat - Travel news
tcat_slug - travel-news
tcat2 -
tcat2_slug -
tcat_final -