Visit these African countries without a visa

Posted on 16 October 2023 By Jordyn Johnson

Africa is not as inaccessible as you might think. Nor is it as difficult to travel through as it once was.

What’s also great about keeping your travels to this continent is that many countries don’t require a visa for South Africans or only require a visa on arrival.

With so much to do, see, and explore, an African country or two might be the perfect holiday for you.

African countries that don’t require a visa for South Africans

Some African countries do not require a visa for South Africans visiting for stays shorter than six months (sometimes even as short as 30 days).

  • Angola
  • Benin
  • Botswana
  • eSwatini
  • Gabon
  • Gambia
  • Ghana
  • Kenya
  • Lesotho
  • Malawi
  • Mauritius
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Reunion
  • Seychelles
  • Somalia
  • Saint Helena
  • Tanzania
  • Tunisia

African countries that require a visa on arrival

These African countries do not require you to go through the long and grueling visa process but rather hand you a visa application to fill out on arrival. Other countries will require you to complete an e-Visa, which is quick and easy to obtain.

  • Burundi
  • Cape Verde Islands
  • Comoro Islands
  • Djibouti
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Madagascar
  • Mauritania
  • Nigeria
  • Senegal
  • Sierra Leone
  • Togo
  • Uganda
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

ALSO READ: 5 ways to spot fake and unreliable travel agencies 

yoast-primary - 1004429
tcat - Travel ideas
tcat_slug - travel-ideas
tcat2 - Travel ideas
tcat2_slug - travel-ideas
tcat_final - travel