7 countries that now have visa-free access to SA

Posted by Gabrielle Jacobs on 11 July 2019

The Department of Home Affairs recently announced the addition of seven new countries that will be granted access to South Africa without a visa.

new zealand, passport

This announcement comes shortly after the Department announced it will be launching a South African e-visa pilot towards the end of the year.

Former Health Minister now at the helm of Home Affairs, Dr Aaron Motsoaledi, stated that of the 193 member states of the United Nations, Home Affairs has already granted visa-free entry to 75 of those countries, including 16 SADC countries. The additional seven countries bring the visa-free tally to 82 countries from which foreign nationals can enter South Africa without any visa hassles.

Motsoaledi stated these measures are in the economic interests of the country, making a smoother passage for trade and tourism.

The countries granted visa-free access to SA are:

– Qatar

– United Arab Emirates

– New Zealand

– Saudi Arabia

– Cuba

– Ghana

São Tomé & Príncipe

Given the number of South Africans who live and work in countries like New Zealand, the United Arab Emirates and Qatar, it may well be beneficial to promote easier movement between countries for touring and visiting  families.

Image: Pixabay

Find out where a SA passport can take you:

How powerful is South Africa’s passport?

yoast-primary - 1004431
tcat - Travel news
tcat_slug - travel-news
tcat2 - Travel news
tcat2_slug - travel-news
tcat_final -