SA bans high-risk passengers disembarking

Posted by Leila Stein on 23 March 2020

New regulations ban foreign nationals from high-risk countries from disembarking aircraft that arrive in South Africa.

To assist with curbing the spread of the coronavirus in South Africa, Airports Company South Africa (Acsa) are going to begin implementing more detailed travel restrictions for those arriving at the country’s airports.

Countries identified as high-risk include: South Korea, Italy, Spain, Iran, Germany, and United State of America, Switzerland, the United Kingdom, France and China.

Aircraft arriving from those countries will be directed to a remote parking apron and authorities will be notified about the arrival.

For those onboard, special procedures apply.

Foreign nationals from high risk countries will not be allowed to disembark. South African citizens will be clinically assessed and quarantined and inbound crew will be screened and quarantined.

In addition, only OR Tambo International Airport, Cape Town International Airport and King Shaka International Airport will manage scheduled flights from high-risk countries.

Image: CoronaviusRSA/ Twitter

yoast-primary - 1004431
tcat - Travel news
tcat_slug - travel-news
tcat2 - Travel news
tcat2_slug - travel-news
tcat_final -