There are new additions to the UK travel ‘red list’

Posted on 8 April 2021

Kenya, the Philippines, Pakistan and Bangladesh will be added to England’s ‘red list’ from 4am on Friday 9 April. This means that visitors travelling from these countries will not be allowed entry into the country.

There are new additions to the UK 'red list'

The ‘red list’ was created in order to help protect the country against the new variants of COVID-19, especially during the critical vaccination programme.

The UK has had over 30 million vaccinations delivered to the country, and they believe that these additional restrictions will help reduce the risk of new variants – such as those found in South Africa and Brazil.

British and Irish citizens, as well as those with residence rights will be allowed entry into the UK but only under one condition – that they self-isolate in a government-approved facility for 10 days. During their self-isolation period, they will be required to take a coronavirus test on day 2 and then another on day 8.

The government has made it clear that they will take many other critical decisions to help contain the spread of the virus.

British nationals who are currently in these countries are advised to make use of the resources provided to them by the Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office (FCDO) travel advice and local guidance.

PICTURE: Unsplash

yoast-primary -
tcat - Travel news
tcat_slug - travel-news
tcat2 -
tcat2_slug -
tcat_final -