England to open international travel on May 17

Posted by Anita Froneman on 10 May 2021

England will reopen its borders to international travellers from selected countries for the first time in months on May 17.

Only 12 countries have been placed on the “green list”.

England to open international travel on May 17

All other countries are placed on either an “amber” or “red”, and residents are not allowed to travel to them for leisure purposes. On return from these countries, Britains will be placed in quarantine for either five or 10 days, either at a government facility or home, alongside different additional measures depending on whether the country was “red” or “amber”.

Travellers returning or entering from the “green list” countries do not have to quarantine in England, and will only be required to take one post-arrival test, according to SkyNews. 

Green list countries include Portugal, Israel, New Zealand, Australia, Gibraltar, Singapore, Brunei, Iceland and the Faroe Islands, plus several islands that are British Overseas Territories.

Picture: Unsplash

yoast-primary -
tcat - Travel news
tcat_slug - travel-news
tcat2 -
tcat2_slug -
tcat_final -