High-risk countries will be excluded from international travel list

Posted by Imogen Searra on 18 September 2020

The Minister of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs, Dr Nkosazana Dlamini Zuma held a media briefing on the regulations relating to the COVID-19 Level 1 restrictions on Friday, September 18.

When international travel resumes on October 1, certain restrictions will be in place. South Africans will not be allowed to visit countries with high infection rates. This restriction will remain in place until infection rates have decreased. This list of countries is not yet available.

International travel:

Borders will reopen on October 1. International travel is allowed to and from all countries on the African continent and countries outside the continent with a low rate of COVID-19 infection, subject to:

– the traveler providing a valid certificate of a negative test which was obtained not more than 72 hours before the date of travel; and

– in the event of the traveler’s failure to submit a certificate as proof of a negative test, the traveler will be required to quarantine at his or her own costs

To temporarily control entry into the Republic from countries outside the African Continent, the relevant Cabinet members shall, after consultation with the Cabinet member responsible for health, determine in directions

– criteria for controlling entry into the Republic, from such countries with a high COVID-19 infection and transmission rate;

– the list of such countries with a high COVID-19 infection and transmission rate, which list may, from time to time, be amended.

– International travel from countries listed as having a high COVID-19 infection and transmission rate, will remain prohibited except for business travel which may be allowed with the approval of the Cabinet member responsible for home affairs.

For other international travel, a schedule will be drawn up and may change at any time. Countries with high infection rates will not be allowed to enter until their infections come under control.

Visa applications will reopen and long-term visas will be re-established from October 1.

Only three airports will fly internationally: OR Tambo International, King Shaka International and Cape Town International. All commercial seaports will reopen, but not for tourists. Passenger ships are still closed, cruise ships are not allowed to offload people onto South African shores.

The already open 18 land borders will reopen for movement of tourists, and the other 35 will remain closed.

To read the full Government Gazette, visit: Cooperative-governance-regulations-18-September.

Image credit: Unsplash

yoast-primary - 1004431
tcat - Travel news
tcat_slug - travel-news
tcat2 - Travel news
tcat2_slug - travel-news
tcat_final -