Only certain passport holders can visit Portugal

Posted by Imogen Searra on 29 May 2020

Portugal announced plans to reopen its borders this week. The country has revealed that only certain passport holders will be allowed to visit in the first phase of reopening.

Countries in the Schengen Area will be allowed to visit Portugal, with two exceptions: Italy and Spain. The Schengen Area includes 26 European states.

According to the European Commission these are: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland.

‘Flights from Schengen countries are permitted as well as from the European Union with the exception of Spain and Italy. Outside of the EU and Schengen countries, flights to and from the UK, Ireland, USA, Canada, Brazil, and other Portuguese language speaking countries are permitted,’ said Portugal Tourism in a statement.

Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Ireland and Romania, are not included in the Schengen Area, although Bulgaria, Croatia and Romania are currently in the process of joining.

Portugal has also noted that its airports will be open to international travellers, including Brazil, Canada, USA and other countries where Portuguese is spoken.

Portugal Tourism has announced that the following recreational activities and areas will be reopened:


Image credit: Unsplash


yoast-primary - 1004431
tcat - Travel news
tcat_slug - travel-news
tcat2 - Travel news
tcat2_slug - travel-news
tcat_final -