Austria opens borders to vaccinated South Africans

Posted by Anita Froneman on 19 August 2021

Austria is the latest country to open its borders to fully vaccinated travellers from a list of countries, including South Africa.

The country announced on its Travel Portal that the following countries are no longer considered virus variant areas but rather “other countries”: Botswana, India, Nepal, Russia, South Africa, the United Kingdom, and Zambia. Fully vaccinated travellers from these countries do not need to self-isolate anymore.

From 18 August, vaccinated travellers will need to show proof of either both completed doses of AstraZeneca, BioNtech/Pfizer, Moderna, Sinopharm, or Sinovac OR one Johnson & Johnson dose + 22 days OR proof of past infection + one vaccination dose + 22 days.

Non-vaccinated travellers are also able to enter the country, but will need to register for pre-travel clearance, and show proof of either a negative Covid-19 test or a valid antibody test/proof of past infection, and will need to quarantine for 10 days upon arrival.

Find more information on the pre-travel clearance here and find the form you need to fill in before travelling here.

Children up to the age of 17 are able to enter Austria with no need to quarantine if accompanied by their fully vaccinated parents, but from the ages of 12 to 17 they also have to show proof of a negative test/past infection/vaccination.

Picture: Unsplash


Germany opens borders to South Africa and Namibia

yoast-primary -
tcat - Travel news
tcat_slug - travel-news
tcat2 -
tcat2_slug -
tcat_final -